Aidan, Motherhood, Reading

A Love of Reading

From the moment I learned to read, my parents instilled the importance of books in my life. My dad would read to my sister and I every night before bed. He was the one who introduced the classics to us. Three of the books I remember him reading were the Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Huckleberry Finn and The Hound of the Baskervilles. I looked forward to him coming home from work, because I knew we would have reading time with daddy. Now that I am a mom, I hope to pass my love of reading on to my son and other future children. Aidan and I make a weekly trip to the library, where we pick out 12-15 books. His favorite authors so far are Eric Carle and Dr. Seuss. While he doesn’t fully understand what I am reading to him, he enjoys looking at the pictures and hearing me make funny voices. I love getting to snuggle with him on my lap, as he holds the book and attempts to turn the pages. I also know that by reading to him everyday, it will help him build an imagination, while also preparing him for school. 

This past week was Dr. Seuss’s birthday. In honor of Dr. Seuss Day, our library held a Birthday celebration. Since Aidan and I love his books, I thought it would be fun to take Aidan to their party. While there were only a few activities we could do with a six month old, it was enjoyable to create new memories with our son. We loved sitting and listening to story time. 


Aidan absolutely loved listening to the stories. For a six month old, he behaved perfectly, with only a few squeals here and there. He loved to look around at all the other children and take everything in. After story time, we showed Daddy around the Children’s section of the library. We had to point out our favorite wall paintings and the different spots we go to every week. 


While he wasn’t old enough for birthday cake or working on the kid’s craft, we found a cozy spot and read a Dr. Seuss book as a family. We even let Daddy pick it out. Soon it was time to go, because our little book worm was getting tired. I am so glad we were able to spend the day as a family at one of Aidan and my favorite places. Books are such an important tool in building a child’s imagination and preparing them to read and write on their own. I love that I am able to share my passion of reading with my son. I hope that by continuing to read to him everyday, he understands the importance of books and grows to appreciate them as I have. Without my parents reading to my siblings and I everyday, I never would have fallen in love with reading and going to the library. If you have an hour or even fifteen minutes, pick out a book and read with your child. If your children are all grown up and out of the house, make some time to read for yourself. I promise it will be worth it. Happy Reading and Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!!!

Leave a Reply

