Aidan, Arts and Crafts, Motherhood

Happy Little Easter Egg

If you were anything like me growing up, you aspired to be Bob Ross. If you do not know who Bob Ross is, you never watched PBS as a child. Therefore, you had a sad childhood. As a little girl, I always loved drawing, painting and crafting. Now that I am a mom, I am trying to introduce this love of art to my son. While he is only 7 months old and does not understand what he is doing, we have fun spending time together. One of my favorite activities to do with Aidan, is to put a piece of paper in a ziplock bag with paint and let him play with it. 

Since Easter is just around the corner, I thought it would be fun for Aidan to design his own Easter egg. First I cut out an egg shape and then I placed it in the ziplock bag with different color paint drops. 

I just used whatever paint I had on hand. I did not allow Aidan to touch the paint directly and never left him alone with it. After making sure it was sealed tight, I placed it on the floor and let Aidan play with it. 

Aidan played with the bag for about ten minutes. He kept throwing it in the air and even tried to get our dog Storm to participate. As soon as the dog came over to investigate, Aidan was done painting and wanted to play with his puppy. 

I pulled the painting out of the bag carefully, so it would not smear. I placed some silver stars in Aidan’s hand and let him drop them on the wet egg. 

While the paint was still wet, I used some old ribbon to make a bow and we put it at the top of the egg. It is currently drying on the counter and ready to hang on the fridge. 

I love finding fun, little activities I can do with my son. It allows him to explore and work on his motor skills, while making memories with his mommy. I hope as he gets older, he enjoys art as much as I do! What are some of your favorite activities and art projects you do with your kids? Feel free to comment. I could always use some new ideas!

Love,

Molly

2 thoughts on “Happy Little Easter Egg”

Leave a Reply

