Aidan, Creating Memories, Family, Motherhood

Lions, Tigers and Bears… Oh My!

One of the best parts of growing up in St. Louis, is visiting the zoo. This past weekend, I was able to share in my son’s first experience at the world famous St. Louis Zoo. Aidan loves looking at pictures of animals in books, but getting to see them in person was a whole new experience. It was a perfect day to visit the zoo as a family. My dad and his wife Debby were able to join us, which is always an added bonus. Aidan loves spending time with his Grandpa and MiMi. 


Our first stop was the reptile house, which is my least favorite exhibit. Aidan was in awe of the big snakes and the turtles. Nathan held Bubba and I snapped pictures. I wasn’t going to get any closer to the snakes than I had to. 

We then went to the primate house, where Aidan decided he would take his afternoon nap. While Aidan slept, the rest of us were entertained by the leaping lemurs. He woke up just as we reached the giraffes, my favorite animal. 


We couldn’t get him to stay still for pictures, he kept wanting to get closer to the animals. After chasing Debby’s flyaway hat, we moved onto the sea lions. 


This was the first time I had seen the new sea lion enclosure. If you haven’t been to the St. Louis Zoo and visited the sea lions, you need to drop everything you are doing and go! It is such a wonderful experience. The sea lions swim right up to the glass and try to play with you. When you walk under the tunnel they swim and splash over you. This had to be Aidan’s favorite part of his visit. He pressed his face against the glass and was trying to pet them, like they were his dog. His expressions made my day. He had the biggest smile on his face. His smiles and giggles kept getting bigger as we finished our visit by looking at the hippos, elephants and gorillas. 


To see such wonderment in your child’s eyes, makes your heart happy. We had an absolutely wonderful day with family, and enjoyed every minute of our visit to the zoo. I am definitely looking forward to when he is a little older and can start to recognize and name the animals. Our little man is getting so big and loves to learn and explore. Creating lasting memories is so important to Nathan and I. This weekend was such a joy for me as a mom. Not only did we introduce Aidan to a favorite place of mine, we were able to spend it with those we love. Nathan and I cherish every moment we have with our Bubba. 

I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter holiday! We sure did!


Lots of love and blessings,

Molly

Leave a Reply

