Aidan, Christianity, Felicity Marie, Loss, Motherhood, Pregnancy

Mother’s Day

I remember as a child, I couldn’t wait to celebrate Mother’s Day. I had it all planned out in my head. The day would start with my husband and kids bringing me breakfast in bed, flowers would be delivered that afternoon, and I wouldn’t have to cook or clean at all that day. I never imagined that instead of looking forward to this special day, I would be dreading it. For many women, including myself, this day is a reminder of what we have lost. Two years ago I was suppose to be celebrating my first Mother’s Day, as I was newly pregnant. Instead, I spent that day holed up in my room crying, because my husband and I knew we would never bring our child home from the hospital. My second Mother’s Day, I was pregnant with our son Aidan. While I was very blessed to be carrying a healthy child, I felt as if I could not celebrate that year, because of our previous loss. How was I suppose to celebrate a day all about motherhood, when it was taken from me the year before? This year will be my third Mother’s Day, but first celebrating with our son. While it will be an emotional day as I remember our sweet girl, I will cherish every moment I get to spend with her brother. Even though I wish I could wake up Sunday morning to both my children’s smiling faces, I know Felicity will be watching over me. Two years ago, she made me a mommy. While I do not have her in my arms, I cherish the time I carried her inside of me. Mother’s Day isn’t about the gifts or day off from chores, it is celebrating the role God blessed me with. While one of my children is not here on Earth with me, I would not have become a mother without her being placed in my life, as short as it was. While I plan on celebrating with Aidan, a part of me will be grieving for my daughter. Though Mother’s Day will be an emotional reminder of what I have lost, it is also a day for me to celebrate my little boy who looks up at me in adoration. I am a mom to two children, Felicity and Aidan. I love both of my sweet babies and am so lucky to be their mommy. This role given to me by our Father above, is the greatest calling he could ever ask of me. While I am very thankful, I ask for you to take a moment and pray for all the women in the world who have lost a child and those not able to conceive. Sunday will not be an easy day for us.

Many blessings and love,

Molly

Leave a Reply

