Christianity, Health, Motherhood

Loving Oneself

I always thought that as I grew older, I would become more comfortable in the body God designed for me. This isn’t always the case. The dreaded concerns of teenage acne and greasy hair, have been traded in for post pregnancy belly and stretch marks. Lately, I have been so unkind to myself. I look in the mirror and instead of seeing the healthy body I was given, I automatically see my flaws. It doesn’t help that as a woman, it feels as if there are societal expectations of what we should look like. These expectations consist of being a certain size and having flawless skin. Women who have had children, are judged if they have not shed the baby weight almost instantly. Television and social media shows us the actors and athletes who “bounce back” a month after giving birth.  Not all of us can afford personal trainers and nutritionists like Beyoncé and other celebrities. I am almost 11 months post partum and I am still trying to lose some of the extra weight I put on while pregnant with my son. The fact is, as women we are too critical of ourselves. Instead of focusing on our flaws, we need to praise the fact we carried a human being for nine months. When looking in the mirror, instead of pointing out what we wish we could change, we need to celebrate the parts of us we love. God created each one of us specifically. He took his time designing all of his children and “so God created mankind in his own image.” Genesis 1:27. I pray one day humankind can be less critical of themselves, me included. It will take one day at a time to accept ourselves as we are. I will do my best to not judge my body for the changes I cannot always control, but for the miraculous abilities I have been given. Instead of idolizing a perfect image in my mind of what I wish I looked like, I will instead focus on maintaining a healthy mind, body and soul, while embracing my new curves and marks!


I want to dedicate this post to my husband, who reminded me that every curve and mark on my body is unique. I am like my own little snowflake. No one will ever look like me! 

Sending love from one snowflake to another, 

Molly

Leave a Reply

