Health, Marriage, Motherhood

Self Care

From the moment you become a parent, your whole world changes. It isn’t all about you anymore. The focus is off you and now on your child. My son is almost a year old and it feels as if my life solely revolves around him. Sometimes to the point where I have neglected my physical, mental and emotional state. Over the past few months I have had to relearn how to take care of myself. For me, this means I have had to ask for help. If you know me personally, you understand how prideful I can be when it comes to asking for help. I have always wanted to appear as an independent young woman, who could carry her own weight in any situation. It wasn’t until I had Aidan and only getting a few hours of sleep, while also trying to keep up the household that I realized I couldn’t do it all on my own. I learned to lean more on my husband and stop trying to carry all the weight on my shoulders. This summer has presented many opportunities for me to rest and heal my mental and emotional state, while working on strengthening my physical state. On days Nathan is home with us, I am able to rely on him to watch Aidan while I take a nap. We came up with a system at the beginning of the summer where Nathan sleeps in, while I am up early with our son. I then get to take a long nap in the afternoon. These naps have allowed me to catch a few more hours of rest. When I am physically rested, my mental and emotional state is a lot healthier. I have also focused on taking time each day to get exercise. Through exercise I am producing endorphins which emotionally makes me happier, while also making me healthier. Besides getting more rest and exercise, I have learned how beneficial it is to take time for just myself. As adults, I feel it is very important for us to take a few hours a week just for ourselves. Whether it is spending an hour reading or drawing each day, or just walking through Walmart, having “Molly Time,” is something I need so I can mentally prepare for my roles as a mommy and wife. By neglecting my mental and emotional health, I know I cannot fulfill these roles to the best of my ability. I have had to learn over the past year the importance of self care and self love. As parents we need to take a step back from all the chaos of our lives and focus on ourselves once in a while. This does not mean we neglect our children or our responsibilities, but by doing so, we will be much happier and healthier human beings. By learning to love ourselves and take care of our mental, emotional and physical health, we can better care for our children and spouse! Remember your happiness and health is necessary and should always be a priority. 

Love and blessings, 

Molly

2 thoughts on “Self Care”

  1. Molly, I am a huge proponent of naps. The only problem, kids want to play with their parents during the afternoon. So, my solution was to nap while the kids nap. You are lucky to have a husband that will take care of Aidan while you get your beauty rest. I suspect though, it won’t be long and you will wake up to find both playing video games. Fair warning! Dad

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

